Monday, 28 March 2022

Interview with Stephanie Bruning


Monika: Today I have the honor and pleasure of talking to Stephanie Bruning, an American academic historian, LGBTQ+ activist, and transgender woman that documents her transition on social media. Hello Stephanie!
Stephanie: Hello Monika!
Monika: Could you say a few words about yourself?
Stephanie: I'm a historian and educator. I've spent most of my career developing instructional content in history for primary and secondary school students. I also sometimes present on topics related to education or on topics connected to LGBTQ+ history (my next presentation will be a workshop on LGBTQ+ history at the Keystone Conference). I started my transition in 2018 but didn't go full-time until 2020 - although I spent the better portion of my life going back and forth on the idea. Day to day, I can usually be found reading, binge-watching TV with my partner, or playing music.

Friday, 25 March 2022

Interview with Christin Sophie Löhner


Monika: Today let me present a charismatic woman from Germany. Christin Sophie Löhner is a German author, politician, activist and feminist, blogger, speaker on transgender topics, and expert in web development and server administration. In 2019 she published her autobiography „trans(*)parent: Wie eine Normvariante der Natur ihren Weg findet”. Hello Christin!
Christin: Heya Monika! Thanks for being with you. It is a pleasure for me to answer all your questions!
Monika: Did I miss anything in my introduction? You are a woman of many talents. :)
Christin: Haha, thanks! I'm asked from time to time how many hours my days actually have. My main daily business - besides my full-time job of course - is all about my own German-wide organization for self helping groups and peer support.

Wednesday, 23 March 2022

Interview with Christine Zuba


Monika: Today I am talking to Christine Zuba, an American transgender activist and eucharistic minister at Saints Peter and Paul in Turnersville, New Jersey. Hello Christine! 
Christine: Hi Monika. So wonderful to be here, thank you for inviting me. I never really thought of myself as an activist, however I have been fairly visible with my job and my Catholic faith.
Monika: Could you say a few words about yourself? You are a Pennsylvanian lady, right? 
Christine: I am a 65-year-old transgender woman living just outside of Philadelphia in New Jersey. However, my heritage is Polish. My mother’s maiden name was Ostraszewski. Some of my grandparents came from Poland, or their parents came from Poland. My father lived for a time as a child in Poland, he said they lived in an area near the Czechoslovakian border. I grew up and spent most of my early life in northeastern Pennsylvania. As early as I can recall, about the age of 4-5 years old, I felt different. It took over 50 years, after marriage and two children however, when I finally transitioned at the age of 58. I’ve been in broadcast equipment sales for 30 years, and continue to travel all over the country.

Monday, 21 March 2022

Interview with Cami Richardson


Monika: Today I am talking to Cami Richardson, an American businesswoman, former firefighter, Chief Financial Officer of American Skiing Company, and LGBTQ community advocate. She is the author of the autobiography "Do You Know Who I Once Was?" (2019). Hello Cami!
Cami: Hi Monika! I am thrilled to be able to talk with you today. I hope our conversation will be fruitful for those listening. I have some interesting stories to tell about my life that I think many people will find enjoyable.
Monika: You are a New York lady, right? Could you say a few words about yourself?
Cami: Growing up in New York was an interesting experience. At the young age of 8 years old, I started to wear my mother's underwear and stockings and loved the feeling of wearing women's clothes. I was a good Italian Irish Catholic boy and could not explain why I was interested in wearing my mother's clothes and obviously I could not tell anybody. I hid my secret for 55 years before I finally came out at the age of 63 years old. I think being in a New Yorker actually helped me in that it toughened me as an individual so that I could handle what was to come when I finally did transition.

Saturday, 19 March 2022

Interview with Zori


Monika: Today let me introduce you to Zori, a Sri Lankan-born social media influencer and a transgender woman from Dubai, the most populous city in the United Arab Emirates (UAE), documenting her transition on social media. Hello Zori!
Zori: Hello Monika. I am so happy and honored. Thank you for this opportunity.
Monika: Could you say a few words about yourself?
Zori: I am Zori, and I am 24 years old. I live in Dubai but I am originally from Sri Lanka. I have successfully finished my studies recently, and I am also a social media influencer and content creator.
Monika: What did you study?
Zori: I studied international relations.

Wednesday, 16 March 2022

Interview with Stacy James


Monika: Today I am talking to Stacy James, an American musician and guitar virtuoso from Los Angeles, the founder of two bands: Dante's View and Death Valley Daisies. You can follow her guitar masterpieces on her YouTube vlog "Stacy James Guitar". Hello Stacy! 
Stacy: Hi Monika! Thank you for having me and thank you for your support of our community!
Monika: Jimi Page used to say that every guitar player inherently has something unique about their playing. They just have to identify what makes them different and develop it. Have you done it yourself?
Stacy: I feel like I have. I've been playing guitar for over 30 years, and in guitar they say "it's all in the hands" which yes, takes time to develop. It took me time to develop a guitar technique that is like one's thumbprint or DNA on your music, like a vibrato. It can be just how you touch the guitar. I feel if you can combine developed skill and technique, you're almost there. Last would be note choice or how you choose to express your techniques through notes themselves. It's all about finding your own personal expression through the instrument.

Search This Blog